AFF Suzuki Cup 2020 finals recap


Thailand flex its experience to the hilt, mauling Indonesia in the two-legged final, 6-2 in aggregate, to claim the AFF Suzuki Cup 2020 for the record-extending sixth time.

The Thais practically wrapped up the crown in the first leg on December 29, when they fired four without any reply.

Watch AFF Suzuki Cup 2020 finals

Chanathip Songkrasin found the net in both halves for a brace. He put the Thais in front just 90 seconds in. The J1 League veteran completed his double seven minutes after the break.

Philip Roller, who plays for Thai League 1 outfit Port, added another assist at the 67th minute when his cross was met by Supachok Sarachat. Bordin Phala put the finishing touches from inside the box with his right foot seven minutes before full time.

In the second leg, Indonesia fought back but could only muster a 2-2 stalemate.

aff suzuki cup 2010 Thailand vs Indonesia

Ricky Kambuaya’s seventh-minute strike deflected off Thailand custodian Siwarak Tedsungnoen.

Falling behind, the eventual champs then responded with a two-minute blitz at the restart. Strikes by substitute Adisak Kraisorn and Sarach Yooyen extended their aggregate lead to 6-1.

Finally, Egy Maulana Vikri to tie the count at 2-2 ten minutes before full time.

This is Indonesia’s fourth defeat to Thailand in the championship round.

Chanathip’s stellar play the entire tournament gave him the MVP award for the third time. He previously won back-to-back in 2014 and 2016 as part of Kiatisuk Senamuang’s title winning squads. He also shared the Golden Boot award alongside teammate Teerasil Dangda, the Philippines’ Bienvenido Marañon, and Malaysia’s Safawi Rasid, the quartet each netting four goals in the competition.

AFF Suzuki Cup 2020

Indonesia will not go home empty-handed though, receiving the Fair Play award. 20-year-old Pratama Arhan won the Young Player award.